Gifts and Fruits of the Holy Spirit




(CCC 1830) The moral life of Christians is sustained by the gifts of the Holy Spirit. These are permanent dispositions, which make man docile in following the promptings of the Holy Spirit.

"Let your good spirit lead me on a level path. For all who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God . . . If children, then heirs, heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ."

(CCC 1832) The fruits of the Spirit are perfections that the Holy Spirit forms in us as the first fruits of eternal glory. The tradition of the Church lists twelve of them: "charity, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, generosity, gentleness, faithfulness, modesty, self-control, chastity.

The Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit

  1. Wisdom
  2. Understanding
  3. Right Judgment
  4. Courage
  5. Knowledge
  6. Reverence
  7. Wonder and awe in God's presence


The Twelve Fruits of the Holy Spirit

  1. Charity
  2. Joy
  3. Peace
  4. Patience
  5. Kindness
  6. Goodness
  7. Generosity
  8. Gentleness
  9. Faithfulness
  10. Modesty
  11. Self Control
  12. Chastity


Catholic Instruction

Site Index


Copyright © The Prayerful Rosary